Public Session’s Host

Harwood Museum of Art

Since 1916, when Burt and Lucy Harwood first purchased the property at the end of historic Ledoux Street, art and education have been the soul of the Harwood experience. In 1923, Lucy Harwood established the Harwood Foundation, making us the second oldest museum in New Mexico. Beginning in 1929, we served as the University of New Mexico’s Art Field School. In 1935, the Harwood was gifted to the University. In 1937 we were a WPA workshop for woodcarving and tinwork. And in 1938, a Spanish Revival style addition designed by renowned architect John Gaw Meem transformed the Harwood into a cultural centre. We were the public library of Taos from 1937 to 1996. In 1997 and 2010, major renovations transformed us into the premier art museum in Taos including the addition of the world-famous Agnes Martin Gallery and subsequently the addition of the Arthur Bell Auditorium. Today the Harwood is recognized as the leading art museum in the region.

www.harwoodmuseum.org/

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: